

Tuesday April 30, 2019 7:00 PM 1320 5th Ave NW Calgary, Alberta T2N 0S2

Mix and Mingle, 6:45-7:07pm

Call to Order 7:07pm

- 1) Introductions of board, staff, guests and greetings (7:08pm 7:05pm)
 - a) Current Board of Directors: (Tyler)
 - i) Board Chair Tyler Chalmers
 - ii) Vice Chair Robert (Bob) McKercher
 - iii) Treasurer Yasmeen Huq (regrets)
 - iv) Secretary-Vacant
 - v) Directors: Darren Anderson, David Brindle, Ximena Gonzalez, Kathleen Kenny, Peter Piliounis, David Reese, Mary Marson-Trociuk, Sandra Walker, Executive Director – Kate Stenson (ex-officio)
 - b) Staff in attendance (Kate)
 - i) Jessica Clark, Lisa Chong, Karl Kingsley, Allison Harrison, Heather Ramshaw, Taiya Colonel, Maunika Dhruva, Sarah Howden, Kathleen Colmant, David Noble, Joanne Pawelek (joining our team May 21st as CP Manager)
 - c) Guests (Tyler):
 - i) Brenda Annala, (City of Calgary, Neighbourhood Partnership Coordinator), Druh Farrell, Ward 7 representative Katie Dekruyf provided the following updates:
 - (1) Bow to bluff funding has been approved.
 - (2) Flood mitigation continues to be a top priority of Farrell's office; technical work is ongoing related to berm height;
 - (3) Traffic and mobility study approved for transit oriented development
 - (4) Recognition items:
 - (a) appreciation for volunteers: outgoing board members: Peter Piliounis, Darren Anderson, Bob McKercher
 - (b) 70th year of incorporation recognition
- 2) Greetings from Druh Farrell (Tyler to intro) (tentative)



3) Adoption of Agenda (7:16 pm - 7:17 pm)

Call for a motion by Charlie Lund, seconded by Sandra Walker

4) Adoption of the Annual General Meeting Minutes from April 17, 2018 (7:17 – 7:17)

Call for a motion by Ken Uyeda, seconded by Derek Small

- 5) Report from the Board Chair (7:17pm 7:23pm)
 - a) 70th year as a community association
 - b) Program highlights: community potlucks; farmer's market speaker series; increased frequency of chair yoga; updates to facilities coming soon; increased social media presence; volunteers database; streamlined communications for program information.
 - c) Strategic planning: 3-year plan, behind schedule due to change in executive director, but process has started
 - d) Kate Stenson is the new Executive Director of HSCA
- 6) Treasurer's Report Mary Marson-Trociuk on behalf of Yasmeen Huq (7:23pm 7:35pm)
 - a) Power point presentation of Treasurer's report
 - b) Review of financial statements attached
 - c) Motion to Accept the Audited Financial Statements for the 2018 Fiscal Year Moved by Mary Marson-Trociuk, Seconded: Bob McKercher, none opposed
 - d) Motion to Appoint the Federation of Calgary Communities as the audit firm for the 2019 Fiscal Year – Moved by Mary Marson-Trociuk, Seconded: Debra Sword, none opposed
- 7) Report from the Executive Director -(7:35pm 7:43pm)
- 8) Community Service Awards (7:43pm 7:47pm)
 - a) Community-Service Award! Presented to Ken Uyeda Presented by Lisa Chong
- 9) Thank departing Board Members: Darren Anderson, Robert (Bob) McKercher, Peter Piliounis and Trevor Gair (already departed)
- 10) Elections Conducted by Tyler Chalmers (7:49pm 8:10pm)
 - a) Board Members who are in the middle of their two year term David Brindle, Tyler Chalmers, Ximena Gonzalez, Kathleen Kenny, David Reese, Mary Marson-Trociuk



- b) Retiring Board Member(s): Darren Anderson, Robert (Bob) McKercher, Peter Piliounis and Trevor Gair (already departed) (Acknowledgment)
- c) Nominated Individuals for positions on the Board of Directors (6 positions vacant)
 - i) Yasmeen Huq (not in attendance, nomination form received), Nominated by Mary Marson-Trociuk, Seconded by David Reese, none opposed
 - ii) Sandra Walker, Nominated by David Brindle, Seconded by Kathleen Kenny, none opposed_
 - iii) Cynthia Mazereeuw, Nominated by Sandra Walker, Seconded by David Brindle, none opposed
 - iv) Ryan Morstad, Nominated by Tyler Chalmers, Seconded by Darren Anderson, none opposed
 - v) Matt Crowley, Nominated by Bob McKercher, Seconded by Charlie Lund, none opposed
- d) Call for nominations from the floor for positions on the Board of Directors (three times)
 - i) Election of the Members of the Board none
- 11) Question and Answer period
- 12) Closing Comments, Adjournment (8:18) followed by light refreshments and beverages