

# HSCA AGM – 2021 MINUTES

Wednesday, April 20, 2022, at 6:34 PM- 7:58 PM Virtual on Zoom Calgary, Alberta

- 1. Call to Order Laila Adam at 6:34 PM
- 2. Introductions and Greetings Laila Adam
  - 2.1. Land Acknowledgement
  - 2.2. Introductions
    - 2.2.1. Current Board of Directors
      - 2.2.1.1. Board Chair Laila Adam
      - 2.2.1.2. Vice Chair Mary Troicuk
      - 2.2.1.3. Treasurer David Fanstone
      - 2.2.1.4. Secretary Rebekah Callaghan
      - 2.2.1.5. Directors: Joanne Gordon, Kathleen Kenney, Ryan Morstad, Sandra Walker, Andrew Rogan.
      - 2.2.1.6. Regrets from board members: Miranda Johnson
      - 2.2.1.7. Ex-Officio Executive Director: Kate Stenson
    - 2.2.2. Staff in Attendance
      - 2.2.2.1. Genevieve Fisher, Myrah Fraser, Ian Lemke, Ali McMillan, Tolu Okunola, Debbie Olson, Shannon Martel, Shaye Radford.

### 3. Special Guests

- 3.1. Kathleen Ganley and Cllr. Terry Wong provided the following updates:
  - 3.1.1. K. Ganley let everyone know how to contact her if they need to and provided contact information for her office. K. Ganley then provided some guidance and reasoning for residents contacting the Calgary-Mountain View office.
  - 3.1.2. K. Ganley provided a brief update on current happenings and discussions with the province, including an electricity rebate, long-term care regulation, and electricity grid storage.
  - 3.1.3. <u>Calgary.mountainview@assembly.ab.ca</u> and 403-216-5445.
  - 3.1.4. Cllr. T. Wong advised that if any member would like to reach out to the councillor's office, to contact him at <u>terry.wong@calgary.ca</u> or 587-284-2829

### 4. Introduction of Rob James

4.1. L. Adam introduced R. James, a professional registered parliamentarian who will be chairing the remainder of the HSCA AGM.

#### 5. Meeting Special Rules – The minutes can be viewed as attached.

- 5.1. Motion: To adopt the Meeting Special rules as just read by David Fanstone
  - 5.1.1. Moved by D. Fanstone, seconded by R. Callaghan
  - 5.1.2. Opposed: None



5.1.3. Motion carried by unanimous consent

### 6. Appointments

- 6.1. R. James reviewed the following appointments for the HSCA AGM:
  - 6.1.1. Chair: Robert James, PRP
  - 6.1.2. Recording Secretary: Rebekah Callaghan
  - 6.1.3. Minutes Approval Committee: Joanne Gordon and Andrew Rogan
  - 6.1.4. Tellers: Ian Lemke and Ali McMillan

# 7. Adoption of Agenda

- 7.1. Motion: The agenda as presented be adopted.
  - 7.1.1. Motioned by M. Troicuk, seconded by T. Kitchen (HSCA Member from the community)
  - 7.1.2. Opposed: None
  - 7.1.3. Motion carried by unanimous consent

### 8. Adoption of the 2021 Annual General Meeting Minutes

- 8.1. R. James called for objections to the approval of the minutes without reading them aloud.
- 8.2. No objections

# 9. Credentials Report

- 9.1. R. James called upon J. Gordon to present the credentials report.
  - 9.1.1. J. Gordon presented the credentials report. A copy of this report will be attached to the minutes.

### 10. Report from the Board Chair – Laila Adam

- 10.1. Highlights include:
  - 10.1.1. Adapted to ongoing concerns with the COVID-19 pandemic.
  - 10.1.2. Focused strategic efforts on executing a more proactive approach to the pandemic.
  - 10.1.3. Provided childcare and food programs throughout the pandemic, within regulations.
  - 10.1.4. HSCA was able to reopen the Bowview Pool after its closure over the last year.
  - 10.1.5. HSCA launched a staff vaccination incentive program and policy and had 95% compliance.
  - 10.1.6. HSCA hosted one of the City's mobile vaccination buses and began participating in the provincial government's Restrictions Exemption Program (REP) to continue providing meaningful events to the community.
  - 10.1.7. Moving into 2022 and 2023, the board will focus more strategically on the direction of HSCA.

### 11. Report from the Treasurer – David Fanstone

- 11.1. Highlights include:
  - 11.1.1. Despite the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, finances were sustained.



- 11.1.2. Sustained operations at reduced levels.
- 11.1.3. Received Federal, Provincial and Municipal government COVID-19 support
- 11.1.4. Completion of Audit by Baker Tilly Catalyst LLP
- 11.2. <u>Motion</u>: David Fanstone, Treasurer of the HSCA board, moves on behalf of the Finance Committee that Baker Tilly Catalyst LLP be appointed auditor of HSCA for the 2022 Fiscal Year and that the Executive Director is hereby authorized and instructed to set the remuneration of the auditor.
- 11.3. Moved on behalf of the finance committee.
- 11.4. Opposed: None
- 11.5. Motion carried by unanimous consent

### 12. Report from the Executive Director – Kate Stenson

- 12.1. Highlights include:
  - 12.1.1. Adapted to ongoing concerns with the COVID-19 pandemic and gave a shoutout to the childcare team and the facilities team for their ongoing support and resiliency throughout the pandemic
  - 12.1.2. Almost all HSCA's programming continued throughout the pandemic including childcare, farmers market, flea market, and sustainable food programming.

### 13. Community Service Award – Presented to Kristin Chow

13.1. Kristin is an active member of the HSCA childcare community. K. Stenson presented the award to K. Chow for her efforts, kind nature and dedication to HSCA and beyond.

### 14. Staff Recognition - Mary Troicuk

- 14.1. M. Troicuk expressed her gratitude on behalf of the HSCA Board of Directors and Hillhurst Sunnyside community to HSCA staff for their ongoing extra effort and exemplary work dedicated to HSCA.
- 14.2. Board Membership
  - 14.2.1. Retiring Board Member(s)
    - 14.2.1.1. Ryan Morstad
    - 14.2.1.2. Mary Troicuk
    - 14.2.1.3. Sandra Walker

### 15. <u>Motion</u> – move that the number of directors be set at twelve

- 15.1. Moved by M. Troicuk, seconded by T. Kitchen
- 15.2. Opposed: None
- 15.3. Motion carried by unanimous consent

### 16. Elections for the board of directorship

16.1. The process for conducting the election votes was explained within the special rule's presentation. Voting will occur via an anonymous electronic form. Voting members will be placed in a breakout room where they may access the voting form.



#### 16.2. Nominations for board membership:

Nominations for a one-year term on behalf	Laila Adam
of the nominating committee	David Fanstone
	Joanne Gordon
	Miranda Johnson
	Andrew Rogan
Nominations for a two-year term on behalf	Kathryn Kuber
of the nominating committee	
Nominations from the floor for a two-year	Becky Tan
term (Requires a nomination and a second	Nominated by: Joanne Gordon
from eligible members)	Seconded by: Kathryn Kuber

- 16.3. R. James provided a clarifying point about confidentiality. Those tellers of the vote cannot view whom the membership has voted for, only to see that the members have voted.
- 16.4. Elections results (require a majority vote of 16 votes to elect).
  - 16.4.1. Laila Adam, 30 votes
  - 16.4.2. David Fanstone, 30 votes
  - 16.4.3. Joanne Gordon, 30 votes
  - 16.4.4. Miranda Johnson, 30 votes
  - 16.4.5. Andrew Rogan, 30 votes
  - 16.4.6. Kathryn Kuber, 29 votes
  - 16.4.7. Becky Tan, 28 votes
- 16.5. The above list reflects the elected directors for the corresponding term listed in their nomination.

#### 17. Considering those matters specified in the meeting notice

17.1. R. James recognized no other matters.

- 18. New Business
  - 18.1. R. James did not receive any requests for recognition of new business.
- 19. Closing Comments, Adjournment Meeting adjourned at 7:58 PM